Oxycontin

Lindenwold NJ Oxycontin Lawyers

Oxycodone Defense Attorneys Serving Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester County NJ

In New Jersey, it is illegal to possess or distribute Oxycontin and other prescription drugs without a valid prescription from a doctor or professional licensed to prescribe medication. Oxycontin is an extremely potent opioid medication that alters the way your body responds to pain. “Oxy” as it is often called, is the brand name version of the drug oxycodone. Doctors often prescribe Oxycontin to people after surgery, as well as individuals with serious injuries, terminal illnesses, or chronic pain. The problem is, oxycodone is extremely addictive and can often lead to addiction. When a person’s prescription runs out, they are left with some difficult decisions: go through withdrawal, turn to heroin (a cheaper and more readily available alternative), or commit some type of crime like prescription fraud or forgery to obtain oxycontin. People are also arrested on a regular basis for possession, distribution, and intent to distribute Oxycontin in New Jersey.

The highly experienced criminal defense attorneys at our firm regularly confront criminal charges for Oxycontin brought against our clients. Attorney William C. Fay, a former Deputy Attorney General for the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office, has been dedicated to providing superior criminal defense for years. He and his defense team provide zealous defense for clients in Cherry Hill, Camden, Willingboro, Voorhees, Marlton, Gloucester, Camden County and surrounding communities. With several convenient office locations, including one in Evesham Township, our skilled criminal defense lawyers meet with clients arrested in South Jersey and devise a strategy for achieving the best result. To speak with an attorney about your Oxycontin possession or distribution case, contact us at 609-832-3202. We always provide consultations free of charge.

New Jersey Oxycontin Charges

The degree of your Oxycontin charges will depend on the number of pills involved and the nature of the offense (whether or not you are accused of distributing Oxy or possessing the drug with intent to distribute). Below is an explanation of the various charges for Oxycodone that you may face in New Jersey.

Oxycontin Possession 2C:35-10.5

Simple possession of Oxycontin can be a disorderly persons offense or a fourth degree crime. Unlawfully possessing four or fewer dosage units of Oxycontin is a disorderly persons offense, punishable by up to 6 months in jail, a $1,000 fine, and a 6-month driver’s license suspension. Possession of five or more Oxycontin pills is a fourth degree crime, punishable by up to 18 months in NJ State Prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Distribution and Intent to Distribute Oxycontin 2C:35-10.5

A charge for distributing or intent to sell Oxycontin is graded based on the number of pills in your specific case. The grading of these charges is as follows:

  • 4 or Fewer Pills: fourth degree crime
  • 5 to 99 pills: third degree crime
  • 100 or more pills: second degree crime

Fourth degree Oxycontin charges may result in up to 18 months of incarceration. Third degree charges for Oxy are punishable by 3 to 5 years and a fine of up to $200,000. Second degree charges for distributing Oxycodone are the most severe. As such, you are exposed to a prison sentence ranging from 5 to 10 years and a fine up to $300,000.

Use or Being under the Influence of Oxycontin 2C:35-10.5

If you are accused of using or being under the influence of Oxycontin for a purpose other than the treatment of illness or injury as lawfully prescribed or administered by a licensed physician, veterinarian, dentist or other practitioner authorized by law to prescribe medication, this is a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey. If convicted of a disorderly persons offense for using Oxycontin, you may be sentenced to 6 months in jail, a fine of $1,000, and you will have a criminal record.

Obtaining Oxycontin by Fraud 2C:35-13

It is a third degree crime in New Jersey to obtain a prescription for Oxycontin through misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, deception or subterfuge. In other words, if a person uses misleading means to acquire an Oxycodone prescription, they can be charged with a violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-13 and exposed to up to 5 years in prison.

Contact a Gloucester NJ Oxycontin Defense Lawyer for Immediate Assistance

If you or a loved one has been charged with an Oxycontin offense in Camden County or elsewhere in Southern New Jersey, it is critical to find an experienced criminal defense lawyer. Finding out about the charges and potential penalties you are facing is the first step. Then, you must aggressively defend your innocence. The criminal defense attorneys at our law firm are ready to help you reach a favorable outcome. For a free consultation about your Oxycodone charges, contact us immediately at 609-832-3202. We regularly appear in courts in Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester counties.

Testimonials

"Amazing job, explains very clearly"

"He did a fantastic job on my case, making my penalty much less than I thought it could possibly be. He clearly understands what he is doing and can explain everything in a way that anyone can understand."

Anonymous

LEGAL INSIGHTS & FIRM NEWS

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Lawyers Explain Potential Length of Jail Time from Arrest to Bail Hearing The bail system in New Jersey has recently undergone extensive reform. Before January 1, 2017, every defendant charged with a criminal offense was eligible—pursuant to the state constitution and the New Jersey Rules of Court—to request cash bail. A… Read More

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Accused of Harassment in Camden County, NJ? In New Jersey, a person can file for a restraining order against you if you have allegedly committed an act of domestic violence against them. The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act set forth offenses that constitute acts of domestic violence, including harassment. Among domestic violence offenses,… Read More

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Facing Charges for DWI with a Minor Passenger in NJ The offense of driving under the influence in New Jersey can be punished severely, especially for subsequent offenses. When an individual decides to drive while intoxicated (DWI) or drive under influence of drugs (DUI) with a minor passenger in the vehicle, New Jersey law enforcement, prosecutors,… Read More

Request a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey, finding the answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free consultation or contact 609-832-3202


We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español