Criminal Mischief

Cherry Hill NJ Criminal Mischief Lawyer

Criminal Defense Attorney in Camden County, New Jersey

Criminal Mischief Attorneys Haddon Township NJIn New Jersey, criminal mischief is considered a property crime. These offenses typically involve damage caused to someone else’s property and/or endangering others as a result of tampering with someone else’s property. Due to the nature of criminal mischief offenses, these charges are often issued in conjunction with charges for trespassing. The degree of charges for criminal mischief are determined by the circumstances of the specific case. The factors that influence the degree of these charges include: the estimated value associated with the property damage, the nature of property that was allegedly damaged (i.e. a research facility, grave, public utility, public transportation, or airport), and whether or not anyone was injured as a result of the offense. Regardless of the degree of your criminal mischief charges, these offenses leave you exposed to significant penalties, including fines, restitution payments, community service, and jail time.

Criminal defense attorney William Fay has years of experience representing clients facing criminal charges in Camden County and throughout Southern New Jersey. By leveraging his years’ of experience as a former Deputy Attorney General working for the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office, Mr. Fay works diligently to secure the best possible outcomes for clients. To receive a free consultation about your criminal mischief case today, contact his offices at 609-832-3202.

Criminal Mischief Lawyer in Winslow NJ

New Jersey law describes charges for criminal mischief in section N.J.S.A. 2C:17-3 of the New Jersey Criminal Code. With regard to criminal mischief, the statute provides the following:

Second Degree Criminal Mischief in NJ

A charge for second degree criminal mischief applies when the offense results in the impairment of a public service and this interruption causes the death of another person. A conviction for second degree criminal mischief may result in a sentence to serve between 5 and 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, as well as a maximum fine of $150,000. These offenses may also entail mandatory restitution payments and community service.

Third Degree Criminal Mischief in NJ

A charge for third degree criminal mischief applies when the offense results in property damage estimated at $2,000 or more, or if the offense results in the substantial interruption or impairment of a public utility, communication system, or public transportation; the disruption or damage of property at a research facility; damage or destruction of a grave, crypt, or mausoleum; or the bodily injury of another person.  A conviction for third degree criminal mischief may result in a sentence to serve between 3 and 5 years in New Jersey State Prison, as well as a maximum fine of $15,000. These offenses may also entail mandatory restitution payments and community service.

Fourth Degree Criminal Mischief

A charge for fourth degree criminal mischief applies when the offense results in property damage valued at between $500 and $2,000, or if the offense results in damage to an aviation facility, airport, landing field, air traffic device; gas, oil, or water pipes; or telephone wires. A conviction for third degree criminal mischief may result in a sentence to serve up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison, as well as a maximum fine of $10,000. These offenses may also entail mandatory restitution payments and community service.

Disorderly Persons Criminal Mischief in NJ

Criminal mischief is classified as a disorderly persons offense when the crime results in property damage valued at $500 or less. A conviction for a disorderly persons criminal mischief offense may result in a sentence to serve up to 6 months in the county jail, as well as a fine of up to $1,000. These offenses may also entail mandatory restitution payments and community service.

Note: New Jersey punishes criminal mischief offenses involving graffiti with mandatory community service, in addition to the other penalties imposed. When you are convicted of criminal mischief that involves graffiti, you must perform a minimum of 20 days of community service, during which you are required to remove any of the graffiti that you created.

Contact a Gloucester Twp NJ Criminal Mischief Lawyer for a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with criminal mischief or another property crime in Camden County or elsewhere in South Jersey, it is highly advisable to consult with an attorney as soon as possible. Contact our firm at 609-832-3202 for additional information and a cost-free consultation.

Testimonials

"Amazing job, explains very clearly"

"He did a fantastic job on my case, making my penalty much less than I thought it could possibly be. He clearly understands what he is doing and can explain everything in a way that anyone can understand."

Anonymous

LEGAL INSIGHTS & FIRM NEWS

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Lawyers Explain Potential Length of Jail Time from Arrest to Bail Hearing The bail system in New Jersey has recently undergone extensive reform. Before January 1, 2017, every defendant charged with a criminal offense was eligible—pursuant to the state constitution and the New Jersey Rules of Court—to request cash bail. A… Read More

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Accused of Harassment in Camden County, NJ? In New Jersey, a person can file for a restraining order against you if you have allegedly committed an act of domestic violence against them. The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act set forth offenses that constitute acts of domestic violence, including harassment. Among domestic violence offenses,… Read More

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Facing Charges for DWI with a Minor Passenger in NJ The offense of driving under the influence in New Jersey can be punished severely, especially for subsequent offenses. When an individual decides to drive while intoxicated (DWI) or drive under influence of drugs (DUI) with a minor passenger in the vehicle, New Jersey law enforcement, prosecutors,… Read More

Request a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey, finding the answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free consultation or contact 609-832-3202


We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español