Lindenwold NJ Cocaine Charges Lawyer
Defense Attorneys for Cocaine Possession & Distribution in Camden County NJ
New Jersey law strictly prohibits the possession of cocaine in any amount. In fact, possession of even the smallest quantity of cocaine is considered a third degree felony, which entails potential penalties including a New Jersey State Prison sentence ranging from 3 to 5 years. When cocaine possession extends beyond personal use, an individual can be charged with possession with intent to distribute or cocaine distribution, which are even more serious offenses punishable by increasingly severe consequences. When you or someone you love is facing cocaine charges in Camden County, or anywhere else in New Jersey, it is essential to understand all of your available legal options. An experienced criminal defense attorney can ensure that you pursue every avenue toward the best possible outcome.
William Fay is a highly knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer who served as a Deputy Attorney General for the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office and now dedicates his life to criminal defense. To discuss your case with Mr. Fay today, contact his offices at 609-832-3202 for a cost-free consultation.
Cocaine Possession in New Jersey
Possession of cocaine is described in section N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a) of the New Jersey Criminal Code. According to this section:
It is unlawful for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to possess, actually or constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog, unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order form from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by P.L.1970, c.226. Any person who violates this section with respect to a controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, classified in Schedule I, II, II, or IV other than those specifically covered in this section, is guilty of a crime of the third degree.
Cocaine is classified as a Schedule II drug in New Jersey’s Drug Schedule and as such, it falls under the purview of the above statute. Overall, cocaine possession entails penalties including: a 3 to 5-year term of incarceration, a fine of up to $35,000, a felony conviction on your criminal record, and a 6-month period of driver’s license suspension.
NJ Cocaine Distribution Offense
It is also illegal to manufacture, distribute, dispense, or possess cocaine with intent to distribute in New Jersey. All of these offenses are subsumed under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5. According to this statute, the degree of these charges are contingent upon the amount of cocaine involved in the offense. The thresholds are as follows:
- Less than 0.5 Ounces: Third Degree Crime: between 3 and 5 years of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $75,000
- Between 0.5 and 5 Ounces: Second Degree Crime: between 5 and 10 years of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $150,000
- 5 Ounces or More: First Degree Crime: between 10 and 20 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $500,000
I was charged with cocaine. What are my options?
If you have been charged with a cocaine-related offense in New Jersey, questions about possession and intent become exceedingly important to your defense. Your previous criminal record is also relevant in these cases, as New Jersey offers several diversionary programs that provide first-time drug offenders with alternatives to incarceration. For instance, programs such as Pre-Trial Intervention allow eligible individuals to complete a probationary period after which the charges against them are dismissed.
Contact a Gloucester NJ Cocaine Charges Lawyer for a Free Consultation
If you or someone you love has been charged with cocaine possession, cocaine distribution, or another drug crime in Camden County or elsewhere in South Jersey, do not delay in hiring experienced legal representation. Contact our firm at 609-832-3202 for additional information and a cost-free consultation.