Drug Distribution in a School Zone

Cherry Hill NJ Drug Distribution in a School Zone Lawyers

Intent to Distribute CDS in a School Zone Attorneys in Camden County, New Jersey

Any criminal charge for distributing drugs in New Jersey can bear serious consequences. However, your exposure increases exponentially if the drug distribution offense occurs in a school zone. Under New Jersey law, a school zone encompasses any area within 1,000 feet of school property or property used for school purposes. In fact, it even applies to a school bus. Schools are intended to be “drug-free” areas and as such, possession of any controlled dangerous substance (CDS) with intent to distribute in a school zone is a distinct crime in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7. If you are accused of selling drugs near a school, whether the drug is marijuana, methamphetamine, cocaine, heroin, prescription pills, or another controlled substance, you will be charged with drug distribution plus a school zone drug offense. With two separate charges come additional penalties that can impact your life and threaten your freedom for years to come.

If you have been arrested for intent to distribute drugs in a school zone, this critical moment requires aggressive defense representation. At our firm, we have been defending clients charged with drug distribution in a school zone and other drug crimes for years. One of our partners, Attorney William C. Fay, has built a track record of astounding results based on his previous time served under the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office as a Deputy. He now uses his extensive experience to help us help our clients beat their charges. If you need assistance with a drug charge for N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7 in Willingboro, Cherry Hill, Evesham Township, Camden, Gloucester, Burlington County or elsewhere in South Jersey, let us put our knowledge and skill to work for you. Contact our office at 609-832-3202 now for a free consultation.

Drug Distribution and Intent to Distribute in a School Zone: N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7

Charges for distributing, dispensing, or possessing drugs with intent to distribute in New Jersey are outlined in section N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7 of the New Jersey Criminal Code, which states:

Any person who violates subsection a. of N.J.S. 2C:35-5 by distributing, dispensing or possessing with intent to distribute a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog while on any school property used for school purposes which is owned by or leased to any elementary or secondary school or school board, or within 1,000 feet of such school property or a school bus, or while on any school bus, is guilty of a crime of the third degree and shall, except as provided in N.J.S. 2C:35-12, be sentenced by the court to a term of imprisonment.

Where the violation involves less than one ounce of marijuana, the term of imprisonment shall include the imposition of a minimum term which shall be fixed at, or between, one-third and one-half of the sentence imposed, or one year, whichever is greater, during which the defendant shall be ineligible for parole. In all other cases, the term of imprisonment shall include the imposition of a minimum term which shall be fixed at, or between, one-third and one-half of the sentence imposed, or three years, whichever is greater, during which the defendant shall be ineligible for parole. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of N.J.S. 2C:43-3, a fine of up to $150,000 may also be imposed upon any conviction for a violation of this section.

Notably, New Jersey law does not acknowledge the fact that you were unaware you were in a school zone as a valid defense.

Penalties for Selling Drugs in a School Zone in NJ

As you can see from the law described above, a person convicted of possessing drugs with intent to distribute within 1,000 feet of school property is required to serve a mandatory minimum prison sentence. Although a violation of NJSA 2C:35-7 is considered a third degree crime, it does not entail the presumption of non-incarceration associated with other third degree crimes in New Jersey. In other words, even if you have no prior criminal record, you will be sentenced to time in jail if you are ultimately found guilty.

Notably, the mandatory minimum prison sentence varies based on the specific drug involved in your case and the amount. If your drugs in a school zone offense involves less than 1 ounce of marijuana, the mandatory minimum period of parole ineligibility is set at 1 year. Of course, you may be sentenced to serve between 1/3 and 1/2 of the overall sentence imposed, but it has to be a minimum of 1 year before you become eligible for parole. For intent to distribute more than 1 ounce of marijuana or any other drug in a school zone, the mandatory term of parole ineligibility is 3 years. Additionally, you may be forced to pay a fine of up to $150,000. These penalties may be accompanied by others if you are also convicted of a simple drug distribution crime.

Contact a Winslow NJ School Zone Drug Distribution Defense Lawyer

If you have been charged with selling drugs on school property in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, or elsewhere in Southern New Jersey, it is highly advisable to consult with a lawyer. At our criminal defense law firm, our experienced criminal defense lawyers will examine the circumstances of your specific case to find the best strategy. We are dedicated to successfully resolving your drugs in a school zone charges, whether that involves arguing for a dismissal based on violations of your rights or police procedural errors, negotiating with the prosecutor, or securing your admission into a diversionary program. For a free consultation, contact us online or by phone at 609-832-3202. Find out about your legal options and how we have helped people in similar situations.

Testimonials

"Amazing job, explains very clearly"

"He did a fantastic job on my case, making my penalty much less than I thought it could possibly be. He clearly understands what he is doing and can explain everything in a way that anyone can understand."

Anonymous

LEGAL INSIGHTS & FIRM NEWS

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Lawyers Explain Potential Length of Jail Time from Arrest to Bail Hearing The bail system in New Jersey has recently undergone extensive reform. Before January 1, 2017, every defendant charged with a criminal offense was eligible—pursuant to the state constitution and the New Jersey Rules of Court—to request cash bail. A… Read More

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Accused of Harassment in Camden County, NJ? In New Jersey, a person can file for a restraining order against you if you have allegedly committed an act of domestic violence against them. The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act set forth offenses that constitute acts of domestic violence, including harassment. Among domestic violence offenses,… Read More

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Facing Charges for DWI with a Minor Passenger in NJ The offense of driving under the influence in New Jersey can be punished severely, especially for subsequent offenses. When an individual decides to drive while intoxicated (DWI) or drive under influence of drugs (DUI) with a minor passenger in the vehicle, New Jersey law enforcement, prosecutors,… Read More

Request a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey, finding the answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free consultation or contact 609-832-3202


We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español