Pennsauken NJ Drug DUI Lawyer
Driving under the Influence of Drugs Defense Attorney in Camden County, New Jersey
In New Jersey, driving under the influence of drugs (DUI) is subsumed under the broader categorization of “Driving under the Influence” offenses, which also includes first, second, third, and subsequent driving while intoxicated offenses. All of these offenses entail the operation of a motor vehicle while “impaired.” Under New Jersey law, driving impaired means a driver who has a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, or one who is under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit producing drug. Notably, the term “drug” may also refer to a pharmaceutical medication for which you have a valid prescription. DUI charges are often accompanied by criminal charges for possession of a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) or possession of drug paraphernalia. Whether issued in isolation or conjunction with others, DUI charges can spell severe penalties that have the potential to significantly impact your life. As such, it is critical to enlist an experienced attorney who can mount a compelling defense on your behalf.
William Fay is a highly skilled DUI defense lawyer with years’ experience fighting drunk driving and driving under the influence charges in New Jersey. Having achieved dismissals in courts across New Jersey, Mr. Fay has earned accolades and rave reviews from clients. For instance, one former client described his experience as follows:
“I have 2 DWI’s and multiple driving while suspended. Approximately 5 months ago I sleep-drove and totaled my girlfriends’ car. The charges were driving while suspended and driving while suspended after a DWI. The sentence for this is a mandatory 180 days in county jail and a fourth degree felony. Mr Fay by some miracle had the case remanded back to Municipal and I received an extremely favorable outcome. He is an approachable knowledgeable advocate for his client. I would still be in Camden County Jail if it wasn’t for him.”
To read more of Mr. Fay’s client reviews, visit his individual profile page on Avvo.com. You can also contact his offices at 609-832-3202 for immediate assistance and a cost-free consultation.
Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUI) Lawyer in Winslow NJ
New Jersey’s DWI Statute, found in section N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, also addresses offenses for driving under the influence of drugs (DUI). As far as penalties are concerned, DUI offenses entail the same consequences as first DWI offenses when the driver’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) exceeds 0.10%.
The penalties for driving under the influence of drugs (DUI) in New Jersey are as follows:
- A fine of $300-$500
- Imprisonment for up to 30 days
- A license suspension between 7 months and 1 year
- A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
Defending Against DUI Charges in New Jersey
Although DWI and DUI cases are by nature, very similar, they are prosecuted somewhat differently. While DWI cases typically rely on evidence such as breathalyzer tests, DUI cases often utilize blood tests or urinalysis to confirm the presence of a controlled dangerous substance in the driver’s system. This form of confirmation has inherent pitfalls, because drugs like marijuana can linger in a person’s system for weeks after initial ingestion. As a result, the State often employs Drug Recognition Experts (DRE’s) who are trained to identify observable signs of being under the influence of drugs. A DRE may be called upon to evaluate a person suspected of being under the influence, after which he or she will provide an assessment that may be used at trial. Although DRE’s are trained to assess physical indicators such as pupil size, as well as behavioral signs, such as slowed or slurred speech, there is no exact science by which to confirm their accuracy. For a knowledgeable DUI defense attorney, there are a wide variety of ways to successfully combat DUI charges.
Contact a Gloucester NJ DUI Drugs Attorney to Discuss Your Case
If you or someone you love has been charged with driving under the influence of drugs (DUI) in Camden County or elsewhere in Southern New Jersey, contact our firm at 609-832-3202 to discuss your case. Mr. Fay will answer all of your questions and provide you with a cost-free consultation.