DWI Penalties in New Jersey

DWI Penalties in New Jersey: License Suspension, Fines, Fees, Jail Time

NJ DWI Lawyers Serving Camden County and Nearby Areas

The penalties for DWI in New Jersey are extensive and severe. As a person charged with driving under the influence, you face a period of driver’s license suspension, significant fines, court fees and assessment, surcharges to the New Jersey Division of Motor Vehicles, increasing insurance premiums, mandatory attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), and a potential jail term. Some DWI convictions also require community service and an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. The potential penalties for DUI in New Jersey vary based on a number of factors, including the number (if any) of previous DWI convictions on your driving record, your blood alcohol concentration (BAC), whether or not you were in a school zone at the time of the offense, if you consented to a breathalyzer test, and if you were under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Regardless of the circumstances of your DWI case, our firm can help.

William Fay is a highly accomplished DWI defense lawyer whose experience in the courtroom and commitment to delivering superior outcomes has earned him a reputation as a skilled DUI Defense Attorney in New Jersey. As a former Deputy Attorney General for the NJ Attorney General’s Office, Mr. Fay skillfully attacks the prosecution’s case in pursuit of a dismissal. Here is what one former client said about Mr. Fay’s work on their case:

“Excellent Lawyer .. To have on your side !! Attorney William really knows his stuff.. He a honest excellent attorney. He was very informative and handled the case with the highest level of care and professionalism. He cares about people not just the money. I would highly recommend him to anyone. And if needed will definitely use him again. Thanks Bill for all the help!!!” – ★★★★★  Sean H.

To read more of Mr. Fay’s client reviews, you can visit his profile on Avvo.com. Contact our offices at 609-832-3202 for a free consultation with an experienced DWI attorney.

NJ Penalties for Driving Under the Influence DUI

Under New Jersey DWI Law (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50), a person is considered driving while intoxicated if he or she operates a motor vehicle or vessel with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher. A person is also guilty of DUI if he or she drives under the influence of a narcotic or habit producing drug. The potential consequences of a DUI conviction are vast and prosecutors are not allowed to offer diminished penalties under any circumstances. In other words, if you are convicted of DWI in New Jersey, there is no way to negotiate for a lesser sentence. New Jersey also refuses to offer hardship licenses to those found guilty of drunk or drugged driving.

First Offense DWI with BAC between 0.08% and 0.10% and Drug DUI

  • License suspension for 3 months
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Fines between $250 and $400
  • $1,000 per year for 3 years in motor vehicle surcharges
  • $230 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
  • $100 to the drunk driving fund
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • 12 to 48 hours of attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

First Offense DWI with BAC of 0.10% or Higher

  • License suspension between 7 months and 1 year
  • Fines between $300 and $500
  • All of the penalties above
  • For a BAC of 0.15% or higher: mandatory ignition interlock device during license suspension and between 6 months and 1 year after restoration

Second Offense DWI

  • License suspension for 2 years
  • Between 2 and 90 days in jail
  • Fines between $500 and $1,000
  • $1,000 per year for 3 years in motor vehicle surcharges
  • $280 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
  • $100 to drunk driving fund
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
  • 30 days community service
  • 12 to 48 hours of attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Ignition interlock device during license suspension and between 1 and 3 years after restoration

Third Offense DWI

  • License suspension for 10 years
  • 180 days in jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • $1,500 per year for 3 years in motor vehicle surcharges
  • $280 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
  • $100 to drunk driving fund
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days community service
  • 12 to 48 hours of attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Ignition interlock device during license suspension and between 1 and 3 years after restoration

Additional DWI Resources & Information

Testimonials

"Amazing job, explains very clearly"

"He did a fantastic job on my case, making my penalty much less than I thought it could possibly be. He clearly understands what he is doing and can explain everything in a way that anyone can understand."

Anonymous

LEGAL INSIGHTS & FIRM NEWS

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Lawyers Explain Potential Length of Jail Time from Arrest to Bail Hearing The bail system in New Jersey has recently undergone extensive reform. Before January 1, 2017, every defendant charged with a criminal offense was eligible—pursuant to the state constitution and the New Jersey Rules of Court—to request cash bail. A… Read More

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Accused of Harassment in Camden County, NJ? In New Jersey, a person can file for a restraining order against you if you have allegedly committed an act of domestic violence against them. The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act set forth offenses that constitute acts of domestic violence, including harassment. Among domestic violence offenses,… Read More

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Facing Charges for DWI with a Minor Passenger in NJ The offense of driving under the influence in New Jersey can be punished severely, especially for subsequent offenses. When an individual decides to drive while intoxicated (DWI) or drive under influence of drugs (DUI) with a minor passenger in the vehicle, New Jersey law enforcement, prosecutors,… Read More

Request a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey, finding the answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free consultation or contact 609-832-3202


We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español