Criminal Sexual Contact

Cherry Hill NJ Criminal Sexual Contact Attorneys

Sex Crime Defense Lawyers Serving Burlington, Gloucester, and Camden County NJ

Criminal sexual contact is a serious sex crime in New Jersey. Depending on the circumstances of the offense, criminal sexual contact can be classified as a third degree crime or a fourth degree crime. There are two types of charges, one of which refers to typical criminal sexual contact, while the other refers to aggravated criminal sexual contact. In both cases, a conviction for criminal sexual contact could expose you to significant time in prison, registration as a sex offender under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law, and lifelong community supervision. If you have been charged with criminal sexual contact in Camden County or elsewhere in South Jersey, it is critical to protect your interests. The experienced Camden County sex crimes defense lawyers at our firm understand what is on the line when you are accused of a sexual offense. We will listen to the circumstances of your specific case and begin formulating a defense strategy that positions you for the most favorable outcome.

Our featured partner, criminal defense attorney William C. Fay, has built a track record of success by using his experience as a former Deputy Attorney General for the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office to devise the most comprehensive defenses to undermine the prosecution’s case. Our attorneys are available anytime to provide you with a free consultation. Simply call to speak with a lawyer about your criminal sexual contact charges.

New Jersey Criminal Sexual Contact Law: N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3

The criminal sexual contact statute immediately follows the sexual assault statute because the types of conduct are related under NJ law. Criminal sexual contact is essentially a less serious sexual offense that may be committed under the same circumstances as sexual assault. According to the criminal sexual contact law, section N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3, an act of criminal sexual contact involves “intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts of the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing or sexually gratifying the actor.” The term “intimate parts” can refer to the genitals, anus or surrounding area, sexual organs, breasts, inner thighs, buttocks, or groin.

In order to be found guilty of aggravated criminal sexual contact, the actor must commit an act of sexual contact and:

  • The victim is related to the actor blood or affinity;
  • The actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim; or
  • The actor is the victim’s parent or legal guardian.

Criminal Sexual Contact Penalties in NJ

As mentioned previously, criminal sexual contact is a fourth degree crime and aggravated criminal sexual contact is a third degree crime in New Jersey. The relationship between the actor and the victim is a crucial factor when determining the degree of a charge for criminal sexual contact. A third degree crime is punishable by between 3 and 5 years in New Jersey State Prison. Conversely, a fourth degree crime has a maximum prison sentence of 18 months. Depending on the circumstances, a conviction for criminal sexual contact may also lead to mandatory Megan’s Law sex offender registration and the potential for community supervision for the rest of your life.

Winslow NJ Criminal Sexual Contact Lawyers

Charged with criminal sexual contact or another sex crime around Camden County, NJ? Contact our attorneys at our firm to receive a free consultation about your case. Our law firm is dedicated to providing superior defense representation in Camden County, Burlington County, Gloucester County, Atlantic County, and Southern New Jersey.

Testimonials

"Amazing job, explains very clearly"

"He did a fantastic job on my case, making my penalty much less than I thought it could possibly be. He clearly understands what he is doing and can explain everything in a way that anyone can understand."

Anonymous

LEGAL INSIGHTS & FIRM NEWS

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Lawyers Explain Potential Length of Jail Time from Arrest to Bail Hearing The bail system in New Jersey has recently undergone extensive reform. Before January 1, 2017, every defendant charged with a criminal offense was eligible—pursuant to the state constitution and the New Jersey Rules of Court—to request cash bail. A… Read More

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Accused of Harassment in Camden County, NJ? In New Jersey, a person can file for a restraining order against you if you have allegedly committed an act of domestic violence against them. The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act set forth offenses that constitute acts of domestic violence, including harassment. Among domestic violence offenses,… Read More

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Facing Charges for DWI with a Minor Passenger in NJ The offense of driving under the influence in New Jersey can be punished severely, especially for subsequent offenses. When an individual decides to drive while intoxicated (DWI) or drive under influence of drugs (DUI) with a minor passenger in the vehicle, New Jersey law enforcement, prosecutors,… Read More

Request a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey, finding the answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free consultation or contact 609-832-3202


We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español