Lewdness Offense N.J.S.A. 2C:14-4

Cherry Hill NJ Lewdness Attorneys

Indecent Exposure Lawyers Serving Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester County New Jersey

Lewdness is often referred to as “indecent exposure” because it occurs when a person exposes themselves in view of others. Sometimes, lewdness occurs in the context of “flashing.” In New Jersey, you can be charged with lewdness for overt conduct, meaning you exposed your intimate parts under circumstances where you could expect there may have been an observer. However, some people can be unexpectedly charged with lewdness for engaging in a consensual sexual act in a public place or in view of others. For example, two consenting adults engaging in sexual intercourse in a car can actually be arrested for lewdness in New Jersey. You may not even know you were in a technically public place or that someone else was in the vicinity. In other cases, a person who has been drinking will be charged with lewdness for urinating in public. Regardless of the scenario in which your lewdness charges arose, it is important to know that prosecutors aggressively prosecute those accused of lewdness in New Jersey.

If you have been charged with lewdness in Camden County or elsewhere in South Jersey, you need to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. There are defenses that can be used to have lewdness charges dismissed and sometimes, reasoning with a prosecutor can lead to your charges being downgraded. At our firm, our criminal defense lawyers have successfully handled thousands of criminal cases for clients in Camden, Haddon Township, Winslow, Evesham, Voorhees, Mount Holly, Pennsauken and the greater Camden County area. Led by highly experienced criminal attorney William Fay, we approach each case with a singular focus on delivering the best possible result. To speak with a New Jersey lewdness defense lawyer about your case, contact our offices at 609-832-3202. The consultation is absolutely free and confidential.

New Jersey Lewdness Charges under N.J.S.A. 2C:14-4

Under New Jersey statute 2C:14-4, a person can be charged with lewdness for committing a lewd and offensive act in the presence of another person that will likely alarm someone who observes it. As defined under NJ law, “lewd acts” include exposing the genitals for the purpose of arousal or sexual gratification of the actor or any other person. Depending on the circumstances, lewdness can be classified as a disorderly persons offense or a fourth degree crime.

If a person exposes their intimate parts knowing or expecting that a child under the age of 13 can see and the actor is at least four years older than the child, this is considered a fourth degree crime. Lewdness is also a fourth degree crime if a person exposes him or herself to another person who is unable to understand the sexual nature of the conduct because of a mental disease or defect. In all other cases, lewdness is a disorderly persons offense.

Penalties for Lewdness in NJ

If you have been charged with a violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:14-4, the degree of the lewdness charge will determine the penalties to which you are exposed if convicted. A disorderly persons offense for lewdness is punishable by up to 30 days in the county jail and a fine of up to $1,000. This level of offense is handled in the local municipal court where the charges were issued. A more serious charge for lewdness is a fourth degree crime, which is a felony in New Jersey and is handled in the Superior Court in the county where the alleged offense occurred. A fourth degree crime for indecent exposure may result in up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. It is also important to note that you could face up to 2 years’ suspension of your driver’s license if the lewdness offense involved a motor vehicle.

Contact a Voorhees NJ Lewdness Defense Lawyer

Being arrested for lewdness is a scary position to be in. Your job, your reputation, and your freedom depend on the outcome of your case. This is why you need an aggressive defense attorney on your side. Attorney William Fay has spent years defending clients charged with sex crimes and other criminal offenses in New Jersey. He is a battle-tested trial lawyer, seasoned negotiator, and highly respected member of the legal community. With his help and the help of his team, you can successfully resolve your lewdness case and move on with your life. For a free consultation and more information, call 609-832-3202 or contact us online today.

Testimonials

"Amazing job, explains very clearly"

"He did a fantastic job on my case, making my penalty much less than I thought it could possibly be. He clearly understands what he is doing and can explain everything in a way that anyone can understand."

Anonymous

LEGAL INSIGHTS & FIRM NEWS

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Lawyers Explain Potential Length of Jail Time from Arrest to Bail Hearing The bail system in New Jersey has recently undergone extensive reform. Before January 1, 2017, every defendant charged with a criminal offense was eligible—pursuant to the state constitution and the New Jersey Rules of Court—to request cash bail. A… Read More

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Accused of Harassment in Camden County, NJ? In New Jersey, a person can file for a restraining order against you if you have allegedly committed an act of domestic violence against them. The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act set forth offenses that constitute acts of domestic violence, including harassment. Among domestic violence offenses,… Read More

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Facing Charges for DWI with a Minor Passenger in NJ The offense of driving under the influence in New Jersey can be punished severely, especially for subsequent offenses. When an individual decides to drive while intoxicated (DWI) or drive under influence of drugs (DUI) with a minor passenger in the vehicle, New Jersey law enforcement, prosecutors,… Read More

Request a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey, finding the answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free consultation or contact 609-832-3202


We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español