Aggravated Sexual Assault

Evesham NJ Aggravated Sexual Assault Lawyers

Sex Crime Defense Attorneys in South Jersey

Aggravated sexual assault is among the most serious criminal charges in New Jersey. Specifically, a charge for aggravated sexual assault, in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2, is a first degree crime that is punishable by up to 20 years in prison. It is also a sex crime subject to mandatory sex offender registration under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law. Notably, there is no statute of limitations for aggravated sexual assault, so these charges can be brought against a person decades after the alleged crime occurred. Notwithstanding the criminal penalties associated with a conviction for aggravated sexual assault, a mere allegation can spell catastrophic consequences for your life, casting doubt on your character and significantly damaging your reputation and relationships, both personally and professionally. At our criminal defense law firm, we understand the gravity of a sex crime allegation and we fight tooth and nail to prove your innocence. If you or someone you love has been charged with aggravated sexual assault in Camden County or elsewhere in South Jersey, contact us today for a free consultation with an experienced sex crime defense attorney. We can be reached anytime at 609-832-3202 or contact us online.

Aggravated Sexual Assault in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2(a)

In order to be convicted of aggravated sexual assault, the State must prove that you committed an act of sexual penetration under certain circumstances. Specifically, the statute provides:

§ 2C:14-2(a) An actor is guilty of aggravated sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual penetration with another person under any one of the following circumstances:

(1) The victim is less than 13 years old;

(2) The victim is at least 13 but less than 16 years old; and

(a)The actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree, or

(b)The actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor’s legal, professional, or occupational status, or

(c)The actor is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household;

(3) The act is committed during the commission, or attempted commission, whether alone or with one or more other persons, of robbery, kidnapping, homicide, aggravated assault on another, burglary, arson or criminal escape;

(4) The actor is armed with a weapon or any object fashioned in such a manner as to lead the victim to reasonably believe it to be a weapon and threatens by word or gesture to use the weapon or object;

(5) The actor is aided or abetted by one or more other persons and the actor uses physical force or coercion;

(6) The actor uses physical force or coercion and severe personal injury is sustained by the victim;

(7) The victim is one whom the actor knew or should have known was physically helpless or incapacitated, intellectually or mentally incapacitated, or had a mental disease or defect which rendered the victim temporarily or permanently incapable of understanding the nature of his conduct, including, but not limited to, being incapable of providing consent.

What are the Penalties for Aggravated Sexual Assault in NJ?

The exposure associated with an aggravated sexual assault charge in New Jersey is extensive. First, because it is a first degree crime, the prison term range is 10 to 20 years. Also, it is governed by New Jersey’s No Early Release Act, which requires the person convicted to serve 85 percent of the sentence imposed before becoming eligible for parole. Further, aggravated sexual assault is a sex crime that requires registration as a sex offender under Megan’s Law if you are found guilty. Lastly, a conviction for this offense will result in community supervision for life.

Contact a Cherry Hill NJ Aggravated Sexual Assault Lawyer about Your Defense

With so much on the line, it is absolutely crucial to develop the most compelling and comprehensive defense strategy to beat aggravated sexual assault charges. William Fay and his criminal defense team are committed to thoroughly investigating your specific case and vigorously defending your innocence. To speak with Mr. Fay or schedule an appointment at the office location nearest you, call 609-832-3202 today. We regularly defend clients in Burlington County, Camden County and Gloucester County.

Testimonials

"Amazing job, explains very clearly"

"He did a fantastic job on my case, making my penalty much less than I thought it could possibly be. He clearly understands what he is doing and can explain everything in a way that anyone can understand."

Anonymous

LEGAL INSIGHTS & FIRM NEWS

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Lawyers Explain Potential Length of Jail Time from Arrest to Bail Hearing The bail system in New Jersey has recently undergone extensive reform. Before January 1, 2017, every defendant charged with a criminal offense was eligible—pursuant to the state constitution and the New Jersey Rules of Court—to request cash bail. A… Read More

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Accused of Harassment in Camden County, NJ? In New Jersey, a person can file for a restraining order against you if you have allegedly committed an act of domestic violence against them. The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act set forth offenses that constitute acts of domestic violence, including harassment. Among domestic violence offenses,… Read More

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Facing Charges for DWI with a Minor Passenger in NJ The offense of driving under the influence in New Jersey can be punished severely, especially for subsequent offenses. When an individual decides to drive while intoxicated (DWI) or drive under influence of drugs (DUI) with a minor passenger in the vehicle, New Jersey law enforcement, prosecutors,… Read More

Request a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey, finding the answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free consultation or contact 609-832-3202


We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español