Sexual Assault

Camden County NJ Sexual Assault Lawyer

Sex Crimes Defense Attorney in Cherry Hill, New Jersey

Sexual assault, often referred to as “rape,” is considered a particularly egregious crime in New Jersey. In fact, the State imposes strict sentencing guidelines in these cases, subjecting those convicted to mandatory sex offender registration under Megan’s Law, a period of parole ineligibility, life-long community supervision, and a prison sentence of up to 10 years. The legal consequences aside, people often fail to consider the catastrophically damaging implications of sexual assault allegations for those accused of these crimes. The stigma associated with being accused of a sex crime can permanently mar your relationships, your reputation, and your ability to pursue your best life. With no statute of limitations, sexual assault allegations from an alleged victim can arise at any time, affecting you decades down the road. If you are under investigation, brought in for questioning, or charged with sexual assault in New Jersey, it is imperative to have a knowledgeable legal advocate in your corner.

William Fay is a highly experienced criminal defense attorney who has dedicated his legal practice to protecting the rights of those charged with criminal offenses in the South Jersey area. With unparalleled skill and an unwavering commitment to his clients, Mr. Fay pursues every available option to achieve the best possible outcome. As a former Deputy for the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office, Mr, Fay gained the legal knowledge and trial prowess he now uses to win cases for his clients charged with crimes in the Camden County region. He frequently achieves dismissals and other favorable results for clients in Camden County and Gloucester County as well. To discuss your sexual assault case with Mr. Fay and find the answers you need, contact his offices today at 609-832-3202. Consultations are always provided free of charge.

Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey

The New Jersey Criminal Code addresses sexual assault charges in section N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2, which states the following:

An actor is guilty of sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual contact with a victim who is less than 13 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim. Additionally, an actor is guilty of sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual penetration with another person under any one of the following circumstances:

(1) The actor uses physical force or coercion, but the victim does not sustain severe personal injury;

(2) The victim is on probation or parole, or is detained in a hospital, prison or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor’s legal, professional or occupational status;

(3) The victim is at least 16 but less than 18 years old and:

  • The actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree;
  • The actor has supervisory or disciplinary power of any nature or in any capacity over the victim; or
  • The actor is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household; or

(4) The victim is at least 13 but less than 16 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.

New Jersey Sexual Assault Charges: Key Definitions

There are several terms that are integral to the accurate definition and understanding of sexual assault charges in New Jersey. First, sexual contact is defined as “any intentional touching by the victim or defendant, either directly or through clothing, of the victim’s or defendant’s intimate parts for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing or sexually gratifying the defendant. Sexual contact of the defendant with himself must be in view of the victim whom the actor knows to be present.” Second, sexual penetration refers to “vaginal intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio or anal intercourse between persons or insertion of the hand, finger, or object into the anus or vagina either by the defendant on the defendant’s instruction.”

Consequences of Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey

Sexual assault is classified as a second degree crime in New Jersey. Second degree crimes are punishable by a New Jersey State Prison sentence ranging from 5 to 10 years, as well as a fine of up to $150,000. Sexual assault is also among the crimes enumerated under the No Early Release Act (NERA), which requires the defendant to serve 85 percent of the sentence imposed before becoming eligible for parole. In addition to these penalties, defendants convicted of sexual assault are required to register as sex offenders under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law.

Contact a Evesham NJ Sexual Assault Attorney for Immediate Assistance

If you or someone you love has been charged with sexual assault or another sex crime in Camden County or elsewhere in Southern New Jersey, your reputation, your freedom, and your future are on the line.  It is crucial to protect yourself throughout the investigation and prosecution; you simply cannot risk a negative result. Contact our firm at 609-832-3202 for immediate assistance and a free consultation.

Testimonials

"Amazing job, explains very clearly"

"He did a fantastic job on my case, making my penalty much less than I thought it could possibly be. He clearly understands what he is doing and can explain everything in a way that anyone can understand."

Anonymous

LEGAL INSIGHTS & FIRM NEWS

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Arrested in NJ, How Long can I be Kept in Jail?

Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Lawyers Explain Potential Length of Jail Time from Arrest to Bail Hearing The bail system in New Jersey has recently undergone extensive reform. Before January 1, 2017, every defendant charged with a criminal offense was eligible—pursuant to the state constitution and the New Jersey Rules of Court—to request cash bail. A… Read More

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Restraining Orders Based on Harassment in New Jersey

Accused of Harassment in Camden County, NJ? In New Jersey, a person can file for a restraining order against you if you have allegedly committed an act of domestic violence against them. The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act set forth offenses that constitute acts of domestic violence, including harassment. Among domestic violence offenses,… Read More

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charges for DUI in New Jersey

Facing Charges for DWI with a Minor Passenger in NJ The offense of driving under the influence in New Jersey can be punished severely, especially for subsequent offenses. When an individual decides to drive while intoxicated (DWI) or drive under influence of drugs (DUI) with a minor passenger in the vehicle, New Jersey law enforcement, prosecutors,… Read More

Request a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey, finding the answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free consultation or contact 609-832-3202


We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español