Voorhees NJ Driving with a Suspended License Lawyers
Traffic Defense Attorneys in Camden County, New Jersey
There are a myriad of reasons why your driver’s license may be suspended in New Jersey. It may be in connection with a single incident, such as driving under the influence (DUI), reckless driving, or driving without insurance. Your license may also be suspended after accumulating too many points as a result of multiple traffic violations, such as speeding. In fact, New Jersey law mandates suspension of your license after you accumulate 12 points. You may not even know you have enough points for a suspension before it happens. Regardless of the underlying reason for your initial license suspension, you are exposed to even more severe penalties if you are found driving with a suspended license on New Jersey roadways. If convicted of driving while suspended, you face an additional 6 months’ license suspension and mandatory jail time. Any previous convictions for driving suspended will result in increased punishments, as will driving with a suspended license while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs. Being able to drive is obviously extremely important for your life, which is why it is essential to defend yourself when charged with driving with a suspended license in New Jersey.
At our criminal defense law firm, we understand how serious the situation can be when your ability to drive is jeopardized. We thoroughly investigate the circumstances of your case and evaluate all potential avenues to a dismissal. Our featured partner, William C. Fay, is a former Deputy Attorney General for the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office and his approach to criminal and traffic defense reflects his commitment to excellence. His knowledge of police protocol and tactics is invaluable as we build your best defense. If you have been issued a summons for driving with a suspended license in Bellmawr, Camden, Cherry Hill, Pine Hill, Haddonfield, Winslow, Stratford or elsewhere in Camden County or South Jersey, contact our offices at 609-832-3202 for a free consultation.
Driving while Suspended in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 39:3-40
The New Jersey Statute that outlines driving with a suspended license offenses can be found in section 39:3-40, which explains:
No person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose driver’s license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation, or prohibition.
No person whose motor vehicle registration has been revoked shall operate or permit the operation of such motor vehicle during the period of such revocation.
As mentioned above, a driver’s license can be suspended as a mandatory condition of a sentence for another offense imposed by the court, or as an administrative suspension imposed by the NJ Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). In many cases, the DMV will suspend a person’s license for failure to pay a fine or surcharge, or after accumulating 12 or more points.
What are the Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in NJ?
The penalties for driving on a suspended license in New Jersey depend on the specific circumstances of the case. The following are the consequences associated with various driving suspended scenarios:
- First offense driving while suspended: fine of $500 and possible additional suspension for up to 6 months
- Second offense driving while suspended: fine of $750, possible additional suspension of up to 6 months, and mandatory jail sentence for between 1 and 5 days
- Third or subsequent driving while suspended offense: fine of $1,000, possible addition suspension of up to 6 months, and mandatory imprisonment for 10 days
In addition, if you are driving with a suspended license and you are involved in car accident that causes bodily injury to another person, you face between 45 days and 180 days in jail, regardless of who was at fault for the accident. Moreover, if you are driving on a suspended license under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you face between 10 and 90 days in jail and an extended period of driver’s license suspension for between 1 and 2 years. And if you are driving with a suspended license under the influence on or within 1,000 feet of school property, on property used for school purposes, or through a school crossing, you may be sentenced to prison for between 60 and 90 days for a first offense, 120 to 150 days for a second offense, and 180 days for a third or subsequent offense. You also face license suspension for between 1 and 2 years after the completion of your prison sentence.
Haddon Township NJ License Suspension Defense Attorneys
If you are dealing with a driver’s license suspension matter and/or have been issued a ticket for driving with a suspended license in South Jersey, our criminal defense law firm is fully prepared to help you resolve your case and move forward. Our seasoned criminal defense lawyers regularly appear in courts in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and throughout Southern New Jersey as we work toward achieving the best possible outcomes for our clients. To speak with a defense attorney about your driving while suspended case, contact our offices anytime at 609-832-3202 for a free consultation.