Underage Alcohol Possession Lawyers in Glassboro NJ
It should come as no surprise that Underage Drinking is a somewhat of a common occurrence at Rowan University. The freedom afforded by college dormitories lends itself to this type of behavior. By no means is this an admonishment of enjoying your “college experience”, you must be wary of the possible repercussions for being caught in possession of alcohol or under the influence of alcohol while under the age of 21. With an undergraduate enrollment of nearly 13,000 students, Rowan University is one of New Jersey’s largest public universities. Moreover, with a vibrant downtown, including spots like Landmark Americana, and off-campus housing, Rowan University students have plenty of options for enjoying their free-time.
If you are the parent or guardian of a student or juvenile arrested for underage drinking at Rowan University, contact Glassboro NJ Underage Drinking Attorney William C. Fay, IV, Esq. He will explain what possible penalties exist for your child and how we can avoid these hurdles to keep your son or daughters criminal record clean for the future. Please contact our office directly at (609) 832-3202 for a free initial consultation. We handle criminal charges like Underage Possession of Alcohol, Underage Consumption of Alcohol, Disorderly Conduct, Resisting Arrest, Possession of a Fake ID, Possession of Marijuana and Possession of Drug Paraphernalia in the Glassboro Municipal Court.
What are the Penalties for 2C:33-15 Charges at Rowan University?
Penalties for underage drinking can either be filed under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15 or N.J.S.A. 33:1-81. The difference between the two is that N.J.S.A. 33:1-81 violations only apply to violations that occur on “premises licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages.” Alternatively, N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15 applies to violations that occur on public property, schools or motor vehicles. This distinction is important because the penalties are drastically different.
N.J.S.A. 33:1-81 Penalties
- $500 fine
- Six (6) month driver’s license suspension
- Attend a Department of Health and Senior Services alcohol education program at their own expense.
N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15 Penalties
- $1,000 fine
- Driver’s license suspension
- Community Service
- Up to six (6) months in the Gloucester County Jail and
- Criminal record.
Underage Possession of Alcohol Attorneys Near Glassboro, New Jersey
William C. Fay, IV, Esq., heads our firm’s criminal practice group in South Jersey. Having spent part of his career investigating and prosecuting cases on behalf of the New Jersey’s Attorney General, Mr. Fay is well-versed in the tactics used in both prosecuting and defending cases. Having previously represented multiple clients before the Glassboro Municipal Court, we understand the ins-and-outs of the municipal court system. If you or your child have been arrested and charged with Underage Consumption of Alcohol or Underage Possession of Alcohol in Glassboro or on campus at Rowan University, contact our office for a complimentary initial consultation. We can be reached 24/7 for your convenience and we will gladly discuss the realities of your pending criminal charges. Do not let one lapse in judgement result in a permanent criminal record, driver’s license suspension and a lifetime of regret. Please call (609) 832-3202 to speak with Mr. Fay today.