Mount Holly NJ License Suspension Attorneys
If you have been arrested and charged with a crime in New Jersey, you may be surprised to learn that you can lose your license even if the charges have nothing to do with driving or a motor vehicle violation. In fact, one of the most common penalties for drug charges in New Jersey is a period of driver’s license suspension. New Jersey law requires a mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for 6 months if you’re convicted of a drug crime like possession of a controlled dangerous substance (CDS). For more information about driver’s license suspensions for criminal charges in New Jersey, keep reading. And if you are facing criminal charges in Mount Holly, Mount Laurel, Chesterfield, Bordentown, Cinnaminson, Evesham Township, or elsewhere in the Burlington County region, contact our criminal defense law firm for a free consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney. Call 609-832-3202 or fill out our online form today.
Driver’s License Suspension for Drug Offenses under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-16
According to section N.J.S.A. 2C:35-16 of the New Jersey criminal statutes, a person convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a drug offense (any of the controlled dangerous substance crimes outlined in section 35 and drug paraphernalia offenses in section 36) is subject to a mandatory driver’s license suspension for a minimum of 6 months and up to 2 years. The license suspension begins on the day of your conviction unless the court finds compelling circumstances that warrant an exception. In order to receive an exception, a defendant must demonstrate that suspension of their driving privileges would cause extreme hardship and they have no alternative means of transportation. Getting a hardship license exception after a drug conviction is extremely difficult. It is highly advisable to have a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney arguing for an exception to the mandatory license suspension requirement in your case.
Charges with Mandatory Motor Vehicle License Suspension in NJ
Some of the most common charges that require suspension of your driver’s license if convicted include:
- Possession of Marijuana
- Possession of Cocaine
- Heroin Possession
- Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
- Prescription Drug Possession
- Possession of CDS in a Motor Vehicle
- Driving while Intoxicated (DWI)
- Driving under the Influence of Drugs (DUI)
- Underage DUI
- Driving while Suspended
- Underage Drinking
What if I don’t have my license yet?
The mandatory driver’s license suspension associated with drug crimes and other charges applies to both juveniles and adults in New Jersey. If you’re a juvenile adjudicated delinquent of any of the offenses above or another offense with a license suspension requirement, the date at which you are eligible to get your driver’s license will be pushed back. Depending on the specific suspension imposed by the court, you may have to wait between 6 months and 2 years from your seventeenth birthday to take your driving test.
Will my License be Suspended if I get Conditional Discharge or Pretrial Intervention (PTI)?
If you become enrolled in the Conditional Discharge Program or Pretrial Intervention Program (PTI), you are not bound by the mandatory driver’s license suspension associated with drug crime convictions in New Jersey. The Court has the authority to suspend your license if they deem it appropriate, but having a skilled criminal lawyer on your side gives you the best opportunity for avoiding suspension of your driving privileges while on PTI or conditional discharge.
Dealing with Potential Driver’s License Suspension in the Burlington County area?
If you are facing suspension of your license in connection with drug charges or another criminal or traffic violation in South Jersey, you need to speak with a criminal defense attorney about your legal options. At our criminal defense law firm, our lawyers regularly help clients avoid drug convictions and driver’s license suspension in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and throughout New Jersey. To speak with a defense attorney free of charge, contact us immediately at 609-832-3202.