Officials from the Evesham Police Department are currently searching for a suspect who allegedly assaulted an attendant at a local gas station.
According to Evesham Police, a man, who remains unidentified, engaged in an argument with an employee at the 7-Eleven located in the 700 block of Route 70 in Evesham on Wednesday, May 10th. The debate was reportedly over who would pump the driver’s gas.
The incident ensued when the attendant told the driver that he could not pump his own gas. It escalated when a passenger in the vehicle intervened and allegedly punched the gas station employee in the face. Investigators say both suspects fled the scene in a black “muscle car,” which they believe may be a Mustang or Camaro. They released a photo to the public of one of the suspects just days ago, requesting that anyone with information call the Evesham Police Department at 856-983-1116 or the Confidential Tip Line at 856-983-4699, email at Facebook@Eveshampd.org, or text an anonymous tip at ETPDTIP to 847411.
If one or both of these men are identified, they may face criminal charges for disorderly conduct or simple assault. For the driver who is not accused of punching the attendant, he may be charged with disorderly conduct, a common offense in New Jersey outlined in N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2. Disorderly conduct is a petty disorderly persons offense that may apply in cases wherein the defendant is accused of “improper behavior” or “offensive language.” Likely in this case, the man would be charged for engaging in “fighting, threatening, violent, or tumultuous behavior.” As mentioned, disorderly conduct is a petty disorderly persons offense, which is similar to a misdemeanor, and may result in a sentence to serve up to 3 months in the county jail, a maximum fine of $500, and a charge on your criminal record.
As for the passenger who allegedly assaulted the gas station employee, he may be charged with simple assault, as the alleged victim did not suffer serious injuries. Simple assault is a disorderly persons offense, which is more serious that disorderly conduct, a petty disorderly persons offense. In New Jersey, you can be charged with simple assault, in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a), for attempting to cause or causing bodily injury to another, or attempting by physical menace to put another in fear of serious bodily injury. Note that you don’t actually need to assault someone to be charged with simple assault under state law. A conviction for simple assault is punishable by up to 6 months in the county jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and a conviction on your criminal record.
Whether investigators ultimately identify and charge anyone in connection with this alleged assault remains to be seen.
For additional information regarding the incident, view the following article: Enraged customer slugs attendant who won’t let him pump his own gas: cops