Burlington County Accident Results in Bicyclist’s Death, Charges for Driver
A young woman is now facing charges for leaving the scene of an accident resulting in death, after she allegedly hit and killed a bicyclist while driving her car in Burlington County. The driver is accused of striking the victim and fleeing the scene without notifying authorities.
According to Jeff Flynn, a spokesperson for the New Jersey State Police, 20-year-old Lacey Township resident Anna Dow has been charged with leaving the scene of accident resulting in death in connection with a recent auto accident involving herself and one male victim. The collision occurred on Friday, November 11th at 3:25 p.m. on Route 532 East in Burlington County.
Officials believe that Dow struck the victim, 64-year-old Roosevelt resident Ronald Filepp, who was riding his bicycle at the time. Sadly, Filepp did not survive the fatal collision. A subsequent investigation led authorities to Dow and she was taken into custody the same day. Dow is now facing serious charges for leaving the scene of an accident.
In New Jersey, leaving the scene of an accident charges are extremely nuanced. In fact, there are separate criminal and motor vehicle charges for leaving the scene. The specific charges issued against a defendant are contingent upon the circumstances of the specific case. For example, leaving the scene of an accident is a traffic violation, enumerated under N.J.S.A. 39:4-129. The penalties applicable depend upon the damage and/or injury incurred as a result of the accident.
Specifically, if the accident results in property damage only and it is the driver’s first offense, he or she is exposed to a fine ranging from $200 to $400, a sentence to serve up to 30 days in the county jail, and a 6-month period of driver’s license suspension. On the other hand, if the accident results in the injury or death of another person, the driver faces a fine ranging from $2,500 to $5,000, 180 days to be served in the county jail, and a 1-year suspension of driving privileges.
In other cases, leaving the scene of an accident is considered a criminal offense, governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1.1. When you are charged with criminal leaving the scene, this is a third degree felony, which may result in a 3 to 5-year term of incarceration in New Jersey State Prison. The State may also elect to charge you with aggravated assault or assault by auto in addition to criminal charges for leaving the scene.
Assault by auto charges are distinct in that they require the driver to be driving recklessly, driving while intoxicated, or driving with intent to collide with the victim. Assault by auto may apply when the victims suffers bodily injury. Still more, vehicular homicide charges may be issued when the driver is driving recklessly driving under the influence, or driving with intent to collide with the victim and death results.
Under any of the aforementioned circumstances, it is essential to understand the specific crimes for which you have been accused, the penalties to which you are exposed if convicted, and the burden of the State in proving its case against you. An experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney can serve as your greatest asset and your strongest advocate. Contact William Fay today at 609-832-3202 for additional information and a cost-free consultation.
A young woman is now facing charges for leaving the scene of an accident resulting in death, after she allegedly hit and killed a bicyclist while driving her car in Burlington County. The driver is accused of striking the victim and fleeing the scene without notifying authorities. According to Jeff […]
"William handled a matter for me and exceeded my expectations. He was excellent in
all areas of the law and achieved an outstanding result. Best of all,he demonstrates honesty and integrity. I
would highly recommend William and already have."
"I was so scared and nervous about my legal situation but Mr. Fay did an outstanding
job with my case!!! I was so relieved with the outcome and he worked so hard for me! He was so calm and
understanding and I’m so grateful for him. Thank you so very much for helping me! I am so grateful
"All Charges Dropped & Expunged"
"William defended me in my marijuana + paraphernalia case, he had all charges
dropped and expunged! Despite the fact I was long past conditional discharges/probation, etc. He has a sharp wit
and a bright future ahead of him as an attorney. Thanks again Will!"
"Mr. Fay is a fantastic lawyer. He helped me during a very stressful time in my
life. He was knowledgeable about my case and what my options were. He answered all my questions and was very
reassuring. He was there waiting for me at the entrance on my court date and made me feel at ease. He worked
with the prosecutor to reduce my charges. I got the best outcome I could have hoped for. I highly recommend Mr.
Fay if you need a lawyer."
"I was arrested and summoned to court for possession of marijuana, even though I
didn't have any on me. It was my first time getting in trouble and I was terrified and nervous. Mr. Fay came
into court prepared and was extremely assuring. He made it very clear that he was going to fight for my case
until the very end. He was extremely knowledgable about my case and the ways to resolve it. I would recommend
Mr. Fay to anyone who has gotten into trouble."
"Excellent lawyer. Highly recommended."
"Mr. Fay is extremely caring and knowledgeable. He took the time to explain the
entire process in a very clear manner and was a tremendous help during a stressful time. He was always available
to take a phone call and really showed that he cared about me and my case. I highly recommend Mr. Fay as an
"Great lawyer. Created a best possible outcome for my case."
"Amazing job, explains very clearly"
"He did a fantastic job on my case, making my penalty much less than I thought it
could possibly be. He clearly understands what he is doing and can explain everything in a way that anyone can
understand. Any questions I had were answered very clearly and he listened to all small details of my case."
Before 2019, anyone convicted of a DWI in New Jersey for the first time faced harsh punishment, including a driver’s license suspension. However, in December of 2019, the New Jersey legislature changed the sentencing for a first-time offender whose blood alcohol content (BAC) is under 0.15 percent or one with […]
Enlisting a Talented DWI Defense Attorney is the Smart Move for Individuals Arrested and Charged with DUI Offenses in the City of Camden, NJ. Camden, New Jersey, is a densely populated city in Camden County, bordering the Delaware River facing Philadelphia. Home of the U.S.S. New Jersey and one of […]
Get to Know How Drug Recognition Experts and Evaluations Work in NJ DUI Cases When an officer detects alcohol on your breath, they will most likely give you field sobriety tests and later ask you to blow into a breathalyzer to measure your blood alcohol level. However, when the officer […]
If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey, finding the
answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free
consultation or contact 609-832-3202
We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español